underground airline

twilight galaxy

Posted in music, video by hydeph on March 29, 2009

Metric – Twilight Galaxy (album version) (4:53) from “Fantasies” (2009)Amazon.comLast.fm

This pleasant track caught my attention on the new Metric album. I like the simple acoustic version in the video too and this is how I’ve been playing it…

(Bmaj)     (G#m)    (2nd inv. G#m)
---7-----------4--------------4--
---7-----------4--------------4--
---8-----------4--------------4--
---9-----------6--------------6--
---9-----------6--------------6--
---7-----------4-----------------
(F#maj)  (Emaj)
--2----------0----
--2----------0----
--3----------1----
--4----------2----
--4----------2----
--2----------0----

Chords
Verse
Bmaj    G#m    F#maj    Emaj
Pre-Chorus
2nd inv. G#m
Chorus
Bmaj    Emaj    G#m
Bridge
2nd inv. G#m    F#maj    Bmaj    Emaj (2x)
2nd inv. G#m    Emaj    F#maj    G#m

Lyrics
Verse
Did they tell you, “you should grow up” when you wanted to dream.
Did they warn you, “better shape up if you want to succeed”.
I don’t know about you. Who are they talking to?
They’re not talking to me.

Pre-Chorus

Chorus
I’m higher than high, lower than deep.
I’m doing it wrong, singing along. (2x)

Verse
Did I ask you for attention when affection is what I need?
Thinking sorrow is perfection, I wallowed until you told me,
“There’s no glitter in the gutter.
There’s no twilight galaxy”.

Pre-Chorus

Chorus
Go higher than high,
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Lower than deep.
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Doing it wrong,
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Singing along.
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh (2x)

Bridge
I’m all right come on baby.
I’ve seen all the demons that you’ve got.
If you’re all right now come on baby.
I’ll pick you up and take…take you where you want.
Anywhere you want.
Anywhere you want.
Anywhere you want.
Anything you want.

Chorus
Go higher than high,
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Lower than deep.
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Doing it wrong,
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Singing along.
ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh ooh (repeat until end)

Tagged with: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

