underground airline

bon iver

Posted in music by hydeph on July 27, 2009

Bon Iver from ryan muir @ Flickr

Bon Iver from ryan muir @ Flickr


I came late to the Bon Iver party, but ‘For Emma, Forever Ago’Amazon.com is a great album. I saw them when they did Skinny Love on Letterman. So I poked around looking for someone who had written up chords for Flume and, while the chords were mostly right, I felt the tunings were off (saw a lot of standard and 1/2 step down). This version from the album sounds 1/4 step down to me. I pulled the lyrics from some site and I’m just going to have to trust the internet on this one because I have no clue what he’s really singing with that voice.

Bon Iver – Flume from ‘For Emma, Forever Ago’
Bon Iver – Creature Fear Live at Glastonbury 2009

These are the basic chords. Add and raise fingers as you hear it in the song. Also listen for the transitions between chords as they’re marked roughly below.

Tuning 1/4 step down

C/G   E5      Am   G6   Fmaj
---   ---    -0-   -0-   -1-
-1-   ---    -1-   -0-   -1-
-0-   -0-    -2-   -0-   -2-
-2-   -2-    -2-   -0-   -3-
-3-   -2-    -0-   -2-   -3-
-3-   -0-    ---   -3-   -1-

C/G    E5   Am   E5

I am my mother's only one
C/G                                  E5
It's enough
G6
I wear my garment so it shows
C/G                                  E5
Now you know
G6

Only love is all maroon
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Gluey feathers on a flume
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Sky is womb and she's the moon
Fmaj                          Am    C/G

C/G     E5      Am     E5

I am my mother on the wall, 
C/G                                   E5
with us all               
G6
I move in water, shore to shore;
C/G                                   E5
Nothing's more
G6

Only love is all maroon
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Lapping lakes like leary loons
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Leaving rope burns -- Reddish ruse
Fmaj                          Am    C/G

C/G     E5     Am     E5 > Emaj

Only love is all maroon
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Gluey feathers on a flume
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Sky is womb and she's the moon 
Fmaj                          Am    C/G
Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

