underground airline

Fading Leaves – October/November mix

Posted in music by heliopath on November 16, 2009

Here is my mix for the late fall season. These are some of the tracks I have picked up while watching leaves around me fall and crumple to their death. Moody reflectional work for cold windy walks around the city that yet cling on to the last remaining threads of optimism. Slowly these too will fade away and fall apart, like the leaves that leave a tree vulnerable and naked. Hopefully that complex mood is realised throughout this mix as you make your way from song to song. When winter comes around I will pull out some of my dark, heavy and end of the world stuff for you. In the meantime, this is for that silent deterioration of sunny summer dreams being poisoned by the oncoming darkness of winter. Don’t get me wrong, i love fall. This natural breakdown is actually a peaceful and beautiful process. A drawn out transition period from the easy and comfortable into the bare unknown. In many ways quite apt for my current personal changing of circumstances.

Surprisingly, despite my recent overdose of Indian wedding ceremonies, I resisted adding bollywood hit “desi girl” to this mix as it might not fit in the overall theme. I hope you enjoy what I have to offer:


Heliopath’s October/November mix

1. Amon Tobin – It’s A Lovely Night
2. Animal Collective – Daily Routine (Phaseone Remix)
3. Muffler – Hear Me Scream
4. Telefon Tel Aviv – TTV
5. Ben Benjamin – Sideways Cerebus
6. Bichi – Revolve The Sun / My Footfalls Are Superfluous
7. Nosaj Thing – Aquarium
8. The XX – Shelter
9. Low – Breaker
10. Thom Yorke – Black Swan
11.Kid CuDi – Persuit of Happiness (Feat. MGMT and Ratatat)

download the zip I tried including the xml playlist file but on some tests it hasn’t been working. So I need you to please place these songs in the right order in a new playlist for maximum enjoyment.


The Amon Tobin is a non-album track released sometime last year. The Phase One remix of Animal Collective really hits my button – taking an already cleverly crafted song and spinning some aquatic funk into it, the result is very bouncy and playful. The Muffler track is some tame moody d&b, followed by an older Telefon Tel Aviv song. Deep emotional build ups provided by Ben Benjamin and Bichi aim to bring waves of pleasure to the ears while invoking reflection. Nosaj Thing calms it all down before beautiful and bare XX brings in a level of purity. Low shows that even the simplest of beats can be extremely effective. I discovered this song when it was used for a great ending of a skins episode (3.04). Thom follows the beat being awesome as usual with Black Swan.

And finally i cannot get enough of this crazy mellow collaboration Kid CuDi, MGMT and Ratatat. Haunting guitars and a sluggish beat below a blastered (somewhere between blasted and plastered) rap of a guy trying to write off his sorrows. It just demands repeated listens as you feel the gut wrench being fought off by a “it’ll be ok” self-reassurance.

I’m On The Pursuit Of Happiness and I Know Everything That Shines Ain’t Always Gonna Be Gold
I’ll Be Fine Once I Get It; I’ll Be Good


Just going back to Skins for a sec: the music on that show has been acceleratingly brilliant. I can’t even begin to tell you how much nice stuff I have discovered from them. It’s not just the greatness of the music but the intelligent use of it to create a certain mood or atmosphere. It’s a cool creative process to be able to find the right music to accentuate the right emotions in a specific moment. There’s an interesting bbc podcast about music in tv shows (right click to download) that was aired recently, particularly talking about music from gossip girl and skins. This task that has always been something that interests me. Something I would love to get a good handle on later.


I hope for now that you enjoy my October/November mix along with all the other good music found on this blog. Hopefully you appreciate that we aim for quality rather than quantity. Therefore the infrequency of our posts are not an excuse to forget about us, so check back once in a while, as you never know when we have a new musical experience waiting for you.

For some of those who want to keep a more frequent tab on the music we listen to check out Rohan’s Blip and Adam’s Blip . Please comment on what you think of this mix and which songs stand out for you.

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hydeph said, on November 17, 2009 at 10:15 am

    fyi, for downloaders of the zip. if you’re trying to use Windows Explorer to open the archive and see nothing in it, try another compression program like 7-zip http://www.7-zip.org/download.html

  2. hydeph said, on November 17, 2009 at 10:23 am

    are you going to do an 8tracks mix of this too?

  3. hydeph said, on November 17, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Started off strong, ‘Daily Routine’ is a good remix. ‘Hear me Scream’ set me zoning out until ‘Breaker’. I was primed to like ‘Pursuit of Happiness’ but it didn’t do much for me. Blippers were all over it a short while ago and it had the same null effect on me today as it did then. Good mix though.

  4. clark said, on December 4, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Hey,
    Trying to get hold of your mixtape but the link expired. thanks!

    • heliopath said, on December 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm

      hey Clark,
      just re-uploaded it. sorry about that, it seems mediafire doesn’t have a good taste in music and pulled it down. hope you will still enjoy it !

    • Britt Melewski said, on November 24, 2011 at 1:11 pm

      clark,

      i think we’re going to try to do more youtube links and linking in general so we don’t have to worry as much about download-link upkeep. hope you’re well

      -b


Leave a Reply

