underground airline

In search of the Mystical Blue Lake (2007) Revisited

Posted in music by heliopath on November 22, 2009

I just got back from a little road trip i did with some SOAS friends up to Norwich to see Matt and Steven (facebook photos here) Usually in the car I rely on hooking up the ipod to the car’s Aux line but this time I brought some CDs along just in case. There is always something novel about a Compact Disc, a start to finish physically printed (unchangeable) product which sounds fantastic on the speakers and doesn’t come with any connection hassles. Among them was this mix CD I made a year ago in France when my friends David and Jack came to visit and we went on a drive to find this cool blue lake I had once seen in passing. Cunningly i named the cd “In search of the mystical blue lake”. However, after 3 hours of driving and searching we failed to find it and decided to turn back. Perhaps I should have named it more confidently as “spending time at the blue lake that we found very quickly”.

    But you know what they say, the best things are only found when you don’t go looking for it:



Nonetheless I put this dusty old mix on in the car today and it caught me by surprise. It turned out to be a very nice soothing mix that went well with a Sunday hangover while we were driving around Norwich in the rain. Even the cramped passenger audience in the back were quite impressed with it. So this is mostly for them that I present a download-able version of this mix but I hope others out there will do so and extract similiar amounts of pleasure from it.

In search of the Mystical Blue Lake / In search of parking on a Hungover Sunday in Norwich City
(special thanks to John Lewis who provided us with parking in the end)

1. Boom Bip – Roads Must Roll
2. Kaki King – Gay Sons of Lesbian Mothers
4. The Chemical Brothers – The Sunshine Underground
3. Plaid – Ralome
4. Imogen Heap – Can’t Take It In
5. The Bad Plus – Dirty Blonde
6. Aphex twin – Girl/Boy Song
7. The Chemical Brothers – Surface To Air
8. Devotchka – The Winner Is (Little Miss Sunshine OST)
9. The Cinematic Orchestra – To Build A Home
10. Boards of Canada – Dayvan Cowboy
11. Apparat – Arcadia
12. Télépopmusik – Breathe
13. Boards of Canada – Bocuma
14. LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
15. I’m Not A Gun – Ripples In The Water

download the zip I tried including the xml playlist file but in case it doesn’t work please order the songs correctly for maximum enjoyment.

There are some real heavy weights in there. For those of you who know me, you will know a lot of these songs feature in my all time favorites list. Even beyond that, the mix is basically made up of my favorite song of each artist. Notable favorites are Dayvan Cowboy, Surface to Air, Winner Is, Gay Sons of Lesbian Mothers, Arcadia and To Build A Home. Oh and Someone Great is just such a fantastic smiley song.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hydeph said, on November 23, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I love that song ‘Breathe’. I think it was Tiesto who first showed it to me.


Leave a Reply

